Martinique

The island of flowers

Tourist attractions

Peter is an island paradise that enchants tourists with its beaches of white sand, its climate and its multicolored flowers. Nevertheless we also recommend you to commit on the winding roads, inland, to really discover this Caribbean jewel. To the South of the country, in the land, the sailor welcomes another of our agencies at the hotel the shores of Ulysses.

Fort-de-France has a historical and cultural heritage important. The city is home to numerous religious buildings; the Church of la Redoute, the sacred heart of Balata, but above all the St. Louis Cathedral, style combining gothic revival to the romano-Byzantine.

Feel free to take the wheel for transit between the Palace of arts and cultures, the Théâtre de la ville and eventually're lounging you on the beach of Fort-de-France. On the other side of the Bay, at Pointe du Bout, you can rent a car agency notice located at les Trois-îlets.

Activities

1 sports
There are many nautical activities. Surf lovers, visit the Bonneville Anse or Tartane. You can also make the Board sailing and Kit surf on the beaches of Anse Michel, le Vauclin or Pointe-du-Bout.
Areas of diving in the North of Martinique lie in the Bay of St. Peter, where you can, among other things, explore wrecks dating from the eruption of Mount Pelée.

2 hiking

The trail of the coast, under construction, will connect Basse Pointe Robert (48 km). Although it is not yet completed, the path to discover many villages of the coast as Basse-Pointe, Le Lorrain or even La Trinité. There are many other paths. Ask at the tourist office.

3 tropical Canyoning
The rivers and canyons in the North will be the opportunity to practice canyoning discovering the tropical forest. Many organizations offer initiations framed by a qualifie.a guide

Specialties

1 kitchen

The best way to discover culinary specialities Martinique is to travel in private homes offering lodging and cover. For the products of the sea, enjoy the succulent creole plate of cod and shrimp, as well as SAARC of the stuffed crab. Enjoy a blaffs, marinated in a mixture of spices and lime and fill with fruit and exotic vegetables: guavas, bananas, fruit of the passion (Maracuja) or sweet pink.

2 drinks

Rum is the basis of fruity cocktails like the punch planter, which combines fruit juice, cane sugar, rum and a dash of lime. You can also opt for a lime daiquiri or a pina colada with pineapple and Coconut cream.

Meadow in a hut where you will be serve with fresh juice as diverse as exquisite (orange, mango, maracuja...). Alternatively go by car rental in a rum distillery and for a tasting, but do not forget that the usage recommendations regarding the drunk driving also apply to overseas!

Lifestyle

1 music and dances

Music and dance are an integral part of West Indian culture. Zouk listens to the radio all day long and dancing languorously in two. In recent years, we are witnessing a resurgence of the "gow - ka', but it feels like everything even the influence of the Antilles with salsa and reggae that really dominate the music scene. It was however during the Carnival period that the feast is in full swing. The Carnival is celebrated every year without fail by all Martinique and begins the Sunday after the Epiphany. It will last four days during which all the country lives to the rhythm of parades

La Martinique

L'ile aux fleurs

Attraits touristiques

Madinina est une île paradisiaque qui enchante les touristes avec ses plages de sable blanc, son climat et ses fleurs multicolores. Néanmoins nous vous conseillons aussi de vous engager sur les routes sinueuses, à l’intérieur des terres, pour vraiment découvrir ce joyau caribéen. 

Fort-de-France possède un patrimoine culturel et historique important. La ville abrite de nombreux édifices religieux ; l’église de la Redoute, le Sacré-Cœur de Balata, mais surtout la cathédrale Saint-Louis, au style alliant le néogothique au romano-byzantin. 

N’hésitez pas à reprendre le volant pour transiter entre le Palais des arts et des cultures, le théâtre de la ville et finir par vous prélasser sur la plage de Fort-de-France. 

Activités

 1. Activités nautiques
Il existe de nombreuses activités nautiques. Amateurs de surf, rendez-vous à l’Anse Bonneville ou à Tartane. Vous pourrez également faire de la planche à voile ou du kit surf sur les plages de l’Anse Michel, du Vauclin ou de la Pointe-du-Bout.
Les zones de plongée du nord de la Martinique se situent dans la baie de Saint-Pierre, où vous pourrez, entre autres, explorer des épaves datant de l’éruption de la montagne Pelée.

2. Randonnée
Le sentier du Littoral, en cours d’aménagement, reliera Basse Pointe à Robert (48 km). Bien qu’il ne soit pas encore achevé, le chemin permet de découvrir de nombreux villages du littoral comme Basse-Pointe, Le Lorrain ou encore La Trinité. Il existe de nombreux autres sentiers. Renseignez-vous à l’office de tourisme.

3. Canyoning tropical
Les rivières et canyons situés au nord seront l’occasion de pratiquer le canyoning tout en découvrant la forêt tropicale. De nombreux organismes proposent des initiations encadrées par un guide qualifié. 

Les spécialités

1. Cuisine

La meilleure façon de découvrir les spécialités culinaires martiniquaises est de se rendre chez des particuliers offrant le gîte et le couvert. Pour les produits de la mer, dégustez la succulente assiette créole, des acras de morue et de crevettes, ainsi que du crabe farci. Savourez aussi des blaffs, macérés dans un mélange d’épices et de citron vert et complétez par des fruits et légumes exotiques : goyaves, bananes, fruits de la passion (Maracuja) ou patates douces de couleur rose.

2. Boissons

Le rhum est à la base de cocktails fruités comme le punch planteur, qui associe jus de fruits, sucre de canne, rhum et un zeste de citron vert. Vous pourrez également opter pour un daiquiri au citron vert, ou une piña colada à l’ananas et à la crème de coco.

Désaltérez-vous dans une baraque où l’on vous servira des jus de fruits frais aussi variés qu’exquis (orange, mangue, maracuja…). Ou bien rendez-vous en voiture de location dans une rhumerie pour une dégustation, mais n’oubliez pas que les recommandations d’usage concernant l’alcool au volant s’appliquent aussi aux DOM-TOM !

Mode de vie

1. Musiques et danses

La musique et la danse font partie intégrante de la culture antillaise. Le zouk s’écoute à la radio à longueur de journée et se danse langoureusement à deux. Ces dernières années, on assiste à une recrudescence du « gow-ka », mais on ressent tout de même l’influence des Antilles avec la salsa et le reggae qui dominent réellement la scène musicale. C’est cependant durant la période du carnaval que la fête bat son plein. Le carnaval est célébré tous les ans sans faillir par tous les martiniquais et débute le dimanche suivant l’Épiphanie. Il durera quatre jours pendant lesquels tout le pays vit au rythme des parades